Review: Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

Hey all, Dani here.

So, I owe you guys a couple more reviews. I’ve been sticking to at least one post each week, but I’ve been reading quite a bit so…I’m going to probably have a few extra posts in the next couple weeks.

Anyway, today I want to talk about a book I was really looking forward to reading. The cover is beautiful and the premise sounded pretty intriguing. Also, I’ve been trying to branch out a tiny bit more, which means reading outside of fantasy more. This lovely book is technically a sci-fi story and includes different planets and races, as well as some interesting technology.

empressofathousandskies

Summary

CROWN PRINCESS RHIANNON TA’AN WANTS VENGEANCE.

The only surviving heir to an ancient Kalusian dynasty, RHEE has spent her life training to destroy the people who killed her family. Now, on the eve of her coronation, the time has finally come for Rhee to claim her throne – and her revenge.

ALYOSHA is a Wraetan who has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. Despite his popularity, Aly struggles with anti-Wraetan prejudices and the pressure of being perfect in the public eye.

Their paths collide with one brutal act of violence: Rhee is attacked, barely escaping with her life. Aly is blamed for her presumed murder.

The princess and her accused killer are forced to go into hiding – even as a war between planets is waged in Rhee’s name. But soon, Rhee and Aly discover that the assassination attempt is just one part of a sinister plot. Bound together by an evil that only they can stop, the two fugitives must join forces to save the galaxy.

In this exhilarating debut for fans of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles and Pierce Brown’s Red Rising trilogy, RHODA BELLEZA crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy.

My Thoughts

I had to give this one a 3.5 star rating. I liked it but it didn’t exactly blow me away.

The summary mentions this is perfect for fans of the Lunar Chronicles or the Red Rising trilogy. Now, I haven’t read the Lunar Chronicles, but I have read Red Rising and while fans of such science-fiction stories will probably enjoy this, I wouldn’t try to compare the two. I feel like I wanted just a bit more from Empress of a Thousand Skies. The premise was interesting and I would have enjoyed the setting more if I had more information about the world.

There was some world-building but I really wanted more. There are several different planets and races, and I’m sure there’s a rich history and culture and more, but I feel like we were only given the tip of the iceberg so to speak.

Oh, also, I guess I should mention that the summary is a bit misleading (at least to me). It made me think that Rhee and Aly were going to meet up and interact and work together. They don’t. The only connection the two have is that Aly has been blamed for Rhee’s assassination.

I will say that I enjoyed that some of the characters were presented one way and it was later revealed that it wasn’t true. We are given the perspectives of Rhee and Aly throughout the story, so naturally the narrative is a little biased based on their own thoughts and beliefs, which is cool.

This was still an enjoyable, though a tiny bit predictable, read. With everything that was happening and was revealed towards the end, I’m left to believe that the next book will probably be a great deal better, as things have become a bit more interesting and complex. So, I’m glad I read this, and I did like it, so I am absolutely going to be reading the next one.

Where to Buy

You can pick up a copy at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-million, Book Depository, or your local indie bookstore.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review: Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

  1. Pingback: February Wrap Up | mousaibookscom

  2. Pingback: Mid Year Book Freakout Tag | mousaibookscom

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s