Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Hey all, Dani here.

Once again I’m back with an early review–though not too early. This book will be out next week on March 7th. Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for allowing me to read an e-galley for The Bone Witch. As always, receiving an early copy of this book did not influence my rating or opinions on this story. For more information on my review policy, you can go here.

thebonewitch

Summary

In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price…

Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there’s anything I’ve learned from him in the years since, it’s that the dead hide truths as well as the living.

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha-one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice.

Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Name of the Wind in this brilliant new fantasy series by Rin Chupeco!

My Thoughts

I know I literally just mentioned this a few days ago, but look at that cover! It is so pretty, and I’m actually really looking forward to seeing more than just a picture. I’m sure the dust jacket looks even better.

Describing this as darkly lyrical is quite apt. Seriously, the descriptions of the clothing was simply outstanding. And considering that through the whole book Tea is literally telling her story to a Bard, it is obvious where the comparisons to Patrick Rothfuss’s The Name of the Wind are.

When I really got into this book–which didn’t really take that long–I found that I didn’t want to stop reading. I was so intrigued by Tea’s story, and learning about the world and the magic and the daevas.

This book is just so good, and I have to try not to gush too much because my gushing might lead into spoilery territory and I certainly don’t want to do that to someone else.

You know, and I’m not even upset with the set up for a love triangle of sorts. The one young man we figure out fairly quickly but it took quite a bit of time for the actual reveal of the second one, and I just want to see how the relationships with both of the guys develop. Because this is just the first book, and it does a rather nice job of laying down the groundwork for the rest of the series.

When this story starts Tea is only thirteen and what we are told in this book is just until she is fifteen, but at one point the Bard remarks about her only being seventeen, so there’s only a couple more years of backstory to learn. Meanwhile there’s all this other stuff happening, and the threat of war and the hints that secrets and betrayals and all sorts of other tragedies await.

And with the way this book ends, man, I just really want to be able to pick up the second book already…but it won’t be out until next year! This is the downside to being granted early access to a book. Waiting longer for a sequel is somewhat torturous. However, I can sincerely hope that I’ll be granted access to the next book as well.

I can say that Rin Chupeco’s latest tale has turned me into an absolute fan. This book was a great adventure and hopefully the start to an amazing writing career for Rin.

Obviously, this is a 5 star read for me.

Where to Buy

You can get your own copy at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-million, Book Depository, or your local indie bookstore.

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Reads of 2017 (so far) | mousaibookscom

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s