Review: Eliza and her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Hey all, Dani here.

Today’s book for review is one I absolutely devoured. It was one I connected with on so many levels and I am so glad to have received it in my May OwlCrate box. So, the cover I have shared on this review is the OwlCrate

35168764

Summary

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

My Thoughts

Rating: 5 stars!

 I loved Eliza as a leading lady. As a writer myself, particularly someone who used to post her stories chapter by chapter online, I related to her creative side and her connection to online friends. And as Eliza started to spend more time with Wallace and their relationship developed, I related to the cute geekiness of it all, because again I happen to be in a relationship with a wonderful geeky guy myself.

There’s also the doubts and the anxiety and the creative blocks Eliza faces in the book. I think these are things any of us who create anything, whether it is art or writing or crafts, can understand and connect with.

The characters were probably the strongest part of this story for me. This was pretty character driven. The basic plot was how Eliza’s online life (and real life) was affected when she started having a life offline.

Anyway, this book made me laugh and tear up and fangirl internally as the story unfolded, both the plot for Eliza’s web comic, and Eliza’s offline experiences.

It was a beautiful tale, one I will be glad to recommend to the creative geeks in my life. And probably the non creative geeks too so that they might understand us a little better. This was just a worthwhile read.

Where to Buy

You can pick up Eliza and her Monsters from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-million, Book Depository, or your local indie bookstore.

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: Eliza and her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

  1. Pingback: Mid Year Book Freakout Tag | mousaibookscom

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s