Review: No Good Deed by Kara Connolly

Hey all, Dani here.

Happy book birthday to Kara Connolly for this lovely book I’m reviewing today. I was lucky enough to receive an e-galley of this by the publisher through NetGalley, so thank you for that. I was especially lucky that I was able to squeeze this into my reading calendar just in time for the release. As always, receiving a copy of this book in no way influenced my rating or opinion.

32766757

Summary

Fans of Dorothy Must Die will love this reimagining of the legend of Robin Hood. Girl power rules supreme when a modern girl finds herself in the middle of a medieval mess with only her smart mouth and her Olympic-archer aim to get her home.

Ellie Hudson is the front-runner on the road to gold for the U.S. Olympic archery team. All she has to do is qualify at the trials in jolly old England. When Ellie makes some kind of crazy wrong turn in the caverns under Nottingham Castle—yes, that Nottingham—she ends up in medieval England.

Ellie doesn’t care how she got to the Middle Ages; she just wants to go home before she gets the plague. But people are suffering in Nottingham, and Ellie has the skills to make it better. What’s an ace archer to do while she’s stuck in Sherwood Forest but make like Robin Hood?

Pulled into a past life as an outlaw, Ellie feels her present fading away next to daring do-gooding and a devilishly handsome knight. Only, Ellie is on the brink of rewriting history, and when she picks up her bow and arrow, her next shot could save her past—or doom civilization’s future.

My Thoughts

Rating: 5 stars

I really enjoy the tales of Robin Hood, okay? When I first heard about this book I knew I had to read it. Come on, an archer gunning for a spot on the Olympic team ends up somehow in medieval England and basically ends up becoming the legendary character of Robin Hood? That sounds like a fantastic story. Now make it one step better by this character actually being a girl. Heck yes, I am so in.

Now the summary says this is perfect for fans of Dorothy Must Die. As I have not read that book, I can’t speak to that statement. But if you like competent, fairly intelligent, and capable characters who happen to be talented with a bow and also a bit prone to landing in one problem with medieval law after another, then you’ll probably enjoy this story.

We get to see characters like the Sheriff of Nottingham, Much, Will Scarlet, Little John, Friar Tuck, and more in this tale. And it made my soul happy.

Okay, yes, so it took me a few chapters to really get into the story, but I felt a bit of a kinship with Ellie as there are references made to lovely nerd things like Doctor Who and Indiana Jones.

Will I admit that I was annoyed with the fact that Ellie felt the need to mention multiple times throughout the book that she sets a couple arrows up next to her so she is ready to grab them and just shoot quickly? Well, yeah that was a tad aggravating, but not so much that it took me out of the story or anything.

I enjoyed the sometimes humorous interactions between Ellie and Much or Will or Little John. It just highlighted the fact that she is a modern girl in a medieval world. Also, I liked that several of these characters were quite aware that she was female but they maintained the ruse that she was a boy and they didn’t seem to look down on her or treat her any differently from anyone else around. That was really cool.

While masquerading as a boy, Ellie decides to use her brother’s name, Robert…which makes her name Robert Hudson, or as some say in that time, Robert son of Hood. There are also those who shorten Robert to Rob, therefore Rob Hood. So the nice tale of Robin Hood comes to pass with a modern girl archer as the famous character.

She takes an outlaw’s stand to help those in the area while also trying to figure out how she is going to make it back to her own time. Does that happen? And even more, does Ellie make it back in time for the qualifiers for the Olympics? Well, you’re just going to have to pick up your own copy of this book to find out. Seriously, it’s worth it.

Where to Buy

You can pick up a copy of No Good Deed from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-million, Book Depository, or your local indie bookstore.

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: No Good Deed by Kara Connolly

  1. Pingback: July Wrap Up and August TBR | mousaibookscom

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s