Books!, Signal Boost, TBR Purge

TBR Purge #26

Hey all, Dani here.

Whew…just one more weekend of these posts and I am done. Can you believe it? Okay, so this particular section of the TBR will probably take less time to get through than the others. Literally the first 15 of the 30 books I have to go through today are from the same author and are the same series/spin-off of that series. It really makes this quite a bit simpler.

Lover Unbound, Lover Enshrined, Lover Avenged, Lover Mine, Lover Unleashed, Lover Reborn, Lover at Last, The King, The Shadows, The Beast, The Chosen, The Thief, Blood Kiss, Blood Vow, and Blood Fury by J.R. Ward. I had heard of these from being a part of the Vaginal Fantasy book club, hosted by Felicia Day, Bonnie Burton, Kiala Kazebee, and Veronica Belmont, but had never actually thought about picking one up…until I started talking to my boyfriend, who is actually a fan of the series. I have since binge-read the first four and I needed to take a break because they were affecting me with their steamy nature. I’m probably going to jump into another binge-read soon and read 4 or so more, but I absolutely plan to devour the rest of these. It’s an easy decision to just keep them on the list.

Not Your Sidekick by C.B. Lee. Okay, so I do enjoy superhero books and this one does still sound fairly interesting, but I’ve passed over getting it a few times at the bookstore already, so for now I’m going to say that I am taking this one off my TBR.

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia. I had heard about this one from Emma at emmmabooks on BookTube and it sounded pretty interesting. And I managed to get the paperback for a pretty decent price. Then add in the fact that I loved Eliza and Her Monsters also by this author, and I’m probably still going to check this one out.

Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely. Technically this one is not on my TBR anymore. I’m currently reading it or I just finished reading it. So yay! There will be a review up soon.

Dear Reader by Mary O’Connell. I do think this one sounds like an interesting premise, but at the same time I have seen a lot of mediocre reviews for this one. So, because I am trying to purge my TBR as well as be realistic about the books I’m keeping on the list as well as my ability to read a lot of them, I’m going to have to pass on this on for now.

Infomocracy and Null States by Malka Ann Older. I need more technology based stories or science-fiction stories in my life. Plus I have a signed ARC of the second book, and then I picked up a copy of the first one, so I definitely need to read these.

More Than We Can Tell by Brigid Kemmerer. I was just granted access to this via NetGalley so I imagine that I will be reading it pretty soon. I am so excited to dive into Rev’s story.

A Curse So Dark and Lovely by Brigid Kemmerer. I honestly don’t even remember what this one is about. However, I love Kemmerer’s books and I’ve pretty much read all of them, so when this one has a cover release and all of that, I”m pretty sure I’m still going to want to read it.

The Adventurer’s Guild by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos. This was pitched at Book Expo as a middle grade that appeal to fans of Dungeons & Dragons. I am in.

All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater. I’ve been meaning to read more by Stiefvater so I still want to pick this one up.

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding by Alexandra Bracken. Okay, so this one was on my TBR pile for a couple of months and I just didn’t manage to get around to it, which is sad because I have heard lovely things about it. So, yes, I still do plan on reading this one.

Zero Repeat Forever by Gabrielle Prendergast. See, now we’ve reached the BookExpo section of my TBR, and obviously I added all these books and tried to get ARCs for them for a reason, so yes, I still want to read this one.

Bonfire by Krysten Ritter. I don’t really read many mystery/thriller type stories, but I loved the Netflix show “Jessica Jones” and this has that same feel to it. Also, I mean it was written by the star of “Jessica Jones,” so I am definitely interested in giving this one a try.

Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco. Okay, so the rare time on today’s list where I’m actually taking a book off the TBR…but that’s just because I still really need to read the first book before I can move on to this one.

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend. Finally, we have another middle grade fantasy type story, and it sounds really fun and interesting, so I obviously plan to pick it up at some point in the near future.


Okay, well as you can see I got rid of only 4 (well, technically 5) books on the list today. But several of these should be heading over to the currently reading or read shelf pretty soon anyway, so I’ll still consider this a successful purge post anyway.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “TBR Purge #26”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s