Books!, Signal Boost

What I’m Reading (19)

Hey all, Dani here.

Happy Wednesday! Although, it has been disgustingly hot and humid where I live for the past few days, so that’s not all that happy. But, today was my last day of work for the week, so now I get a four day weekend, and I’m hoping to get some more reading done, but this weekend is also my fiance’s birthday so he’ll take priority over my books.

Oh, and I should mention that I’m sorry that my Monday and Tuesday posts didn’t show up before today on my blog. I was wondering why I hadn’t received any notifications from them, and that’s when I discovered that I had scheduled them for next week, not this week. So they are on the blog now, a review of My Hero Academia, Vol 6 and a review of Ace of Shades.

Now let’s get into the main content of today’s post, where I talk about the books I’ve finished recently, the books I’m currently reading, and the books I’m hoping to start soon.

When it comes to finishing books, I managed to complete two in the last week, so I’m feeling pretty good about that. One I absolutely loved, and one I liked but it didn’t fully hit the mark for me, but that happens sometimes and I’m okay with that. I will be hopefully getting reviews for both Dread Nation by Justina Ireland, and The Unbinding of Mary Reade by Miriam McNamara up soon.

As soon as I finished those books, I started reading another one of my June TBR books, and I am a few chapters in so far, and enjoying it. Not as much as the first book in the series just yet, but I’m still interested. Then I decided to start another one of my Netgalley reads so I can get the review up before the book is released on July 10th. So I am currently reading A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers, and The Supervillain and Me by Danielle Banas. I’ve only read a chapter of Banas’ book so far, but it has the easy writing style of a contemporary…just with superheroes and villains in it, so I think I’m going to really enjoy it.

Finally, there is the most difficult part of these weekly posts…trying to figure out what books I think I’ll want to read next. I think…it might be these two books…

So, I still very much want to read this fantasy Three Musketeers story, because it sounds like a fun, action-packed adventure. Also, I just learned about All of This is True and it is described as perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying, a book I actually ended up really liking last year, so I’m eager to give this one a chance. Overall, I’m not sure if these will be my next reads, but they might be, so that’s good enough for this post now.

What are you guys reading right now? I’d love to know. We can talk about all the books in the comments. That’s all for today, and I’ll be back soon with more bookish content.

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “What I’m Reading (19)”

      1. Yes, it’s been far too long. I’ve had a hard go of it lately, but I really miss the blogging community, so I’m trying hard to come back, especially as a reader. I’ve missed your blog!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Nica, my dog, passed away and I’ve had a hard time finding a way out of my grief. I stopped doing a lot of things I loved for awhile. There was a time I wasn’t updating or checking Goodreads, which shocked me. I can’t believe how long I was gone. It’s weird how the fog of grief messes with time.

    I’ve done my best to keep up with you on Goodreads and I’ve skimmed a few blog posts via email. Everything about blogging hurt badly for awhile. Nica was too tied up in it. I’m sorry I was so absent.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s