Book Review, Books!, Diverse December, Signal Boost

Review: The Adventurers Guild by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos

Hey all, Dani here.

Today I’m bringing you a review for a book I really should have read about a year and a half ago. I was lucky enough to snag an ARC of this when I went to Book Expo, and the reason I grabbed it was because it was pitched as being for something that would appeal to fans of Dungeons & Dragons. And then I put it on my shelf and just didn’t pick it up again until this past weekend.

So yeah, let’s just jump into the review.

34220595

Summary

Few ever asked to join the Adventurers Guild . . . Their members often died young.

In one of the last cities standing after the world fell to monsters, best friends Zed Kagari and Brock Dunderfel have high hopes for the future. Zed desperately wishes to join the ranks of the Mages Guild, where his status as Freestone’s only half elf might finally be an asset. Brock, the roguishly charming son of merchants, is confident he’ll be welcomed into the ranks of the Merchants Guild.

But just as it seems the boys’ dreams have come true, their lives take a startling turn . . . and they find themselves members of the perilous Adventurers Guild.

Led by the fearsome Alabasel Frond, the guild acts as the last line of defense against the Dangers-hungry, unnatural beasts from otherworldly planes. And when the boys uncover a conspiracy that threatens all of Freestone, Zed, Brock, and their new allies-including Liza, a fierce noble, and Jett, a brave dwarf-must prove their worth once and for all.

This start of a thrilling new series by talented duo Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is sure to be a hit with readers who like their fantasies clever and action-packed, with a dash of snark.

My Thoughts

Rating: 4 stars

Basically I am so mad at myself for waiting this long to read this book. It read so quickly, and I was so entertained the whole time. The references to D&D are pretty clear, so this is definitely a book I would recommend either for those who already play, or perhaps parents looking to persuade their kids to give it a try.

There are classic D&D creatures like kobolds, gelatinous cubes, and nagas, plus more, and then some of the main characters are fighters, healers, spy/rogues, wizards, sorcerers, and warlocks.

Inside this story is adventure and friendship and magic. These pages contain dangers and action and politics and hope.

What I’m saying is that I greatly enjoyed this book, and I definitely need to pick up the sequel very soon. I want more of the newest members of the Adventurers Guild. It was a decently diverse crew, and I’m curious as to what shenanigans will befall them because of the events of the book’s end.

Oh, and since I read this in December and I’m doing Diverse December, I’ll just say that one of the main characters is a half-elf and one of the characters is injured and loses their ability to walk. So maybe not as diverse as some of my reads for the month, but it’s better than nothing. And there’s hope for the next book to be better.

Where to Buy

You can pick up a copy of this book from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-million, Book Depository, or your local indie bookstore.

Advertisements

1 thought on “Review: The Adventurers Guild by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s