Book Releases, Book Review, Books!, NetGalley, Readathon, Reading Challenge, Signal Boost

Review: There Will Come a Darkness by Katy Rose Pool

Hey all, Dani here.

Ugh, the heat and humidity are absolutely awful today…and then I went and made the house even hotter because of cooking dinner. Not fun. I’m definitely going to have to take a cool shower here in a little bit. Anyway, hey, guess what? I finally have another book review for NetGalley’s #Reviewathon. Plus, you know, this book also counted towards my NEWTs Readathon score, so double yay.

Before I start rambling about nothing in particular, let’s jump into the review.

41823536._sx318_

Summary

The Age of Darkness approaches.
Five lives stand in its way.
Who will stop it… or unleash it? 

For generations, the Seven Prophets guided humanity. Using their visions of the future, they ended wars and united nations―until the day, one hundred years ago, when the Prophets disappeared.

All they left behind was one final, secret prophecy, foretelling an Age of Darkness and the birth of a new Prophet who could be the world’s salvation . . . or the cause of its destruction. As chaos takes hold, five souls are set on a collision course:

A prince exiled from his kingdom.
A ruthless killer known as the Pale Hand.
A once-faithful leader torn between his duty and his heart. 
A reckless gambler with the power to find anything or anyone.
And a dying girl on the verge of giving up.

One of them―or all of them―could break the world. Will they be savior or destroyer? Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Children of Blood and Bone, and An Ember in the Ashes. 

My Thoughts

Rating: 5 stars

I read the first 50% of this book the day I started reading it. If it hadn’t been time for bed (because you know, I try to be a responsible adult) then I probably would have finished it all in one day. Instead I told myself to slow down and savor the book a little more, so I made the book last for a few more days…and honestly, it was worth it.

There are five characters we follow in alternating 3rd person POV chapters. Okay fine, I guess I’ll say that the 3rd person framing of the narrative made me feel a little more distant from the characters, but that’s what 3rd person is supposed to do. You’re not in their head and experiencing all of their thoughts and feelings.

The twists and turns of this novel were super great. Each character had their own reasons for what they were doing and why they were doing it, and that led to oh so many “betrayals,” some of which I did not see coming. But it definitely made this story utterly fascinating to me.

I loved learning more about the characters and their world and the magic and the politics and seeing how everything affected everything else. Yes, there were some revelations that were a tiny bit obvious to me, but because of all the wonderful surprise revelations, I’m going to say that this wasn’t a problem for me.

Honestly, I had such a good time reading this book. It came into my life right after I was about to fall into as close to a reading slump as I ever get, and now I am definitely saying that I can’t wait to see what happens in the next book. Katy Rose Pool is an author to keep an eye on. Seriously, I can’t wait to have this book in my personal library.

Where to Get a Copy

You can pre-order your own copy from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Books-a-million, Book Depository, or your local independent bookstore. This book will be released September 3, 2019.

You can also request it at your local library.

This book will be available September 3, 2019.

4 thoughts on “Review: There Will Come a Darkness by Katy Rose Pool”

Leave a Reply to daniellethamasa Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s